Pregnancy Complications

Medical conditions during pregnancy can affect the pregnant mother, the unborn baby or both. We are dedicated to providing comprehensive, compassionate treatment and support across a broad spectrum of complications, such as:

  • Birth defects
  • Bleeding and clotting disorders
  • Diabetes
  • Heart disease
  • HIV
  • High blood pressure
  • Kidney disease
  • Preeclampsia
  • Preterm labor
  • Twins, triplets and more

OB/GYN Ultrasound

Physicians in our division are the primary providers of OB/GYN ultrasound services at VCU Health. Using state-of-the-art ultrasound machines, we examine and diagnose pregnant patients and those with gynecologic issues.

Education

Residents gain experience with high-risk pregnancies, antepartum care and ultrasounds throughout all four years of the program, and we encourage those interested in pursuing a maternal-fetal medicine fellowship to gain additional training during an elective rotation.

Learn more about the OB/GYN residency program.

Ronald M. Ramus, M.D.

Ronald M. Ramus, M.D.

Division Head, Maternal-Fetal Medicine

Ronald M. Ramus, M.D.

Ronald M. Ramus, M.D.

Division Head, Maternal-Fetal Medicine

Department of OB/GYN

Division Head, Maternal-Fetal Medicine
Professor

Email: ronald.ramus@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Whitney Bender, MD

Whitney Bender, MD

Whitney Bender, MD

Whitney Bender, MD

Department of OB/GYN

Email: whitney.bender@vcuhealth.org

Susan M. Lanni, M.D.

Susan M. Lanni, M.D.

Susan M. Lanni, M.D.

Susan M. Lanni, M.D.

Department of OB/GYN

Professor

Email: susan.lanni@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Robert Petres, M.D.

Robert Petres, M.D.

Robert Petres, M.D.

Robert Petres, M.D.

Department of OB/GYN

Clinical Professor

Email: robert.petres@vcuhealth.org

Fidelma B. Rigby, M.D.

Fidelma B. Rigby, M.D.

Fidelma B. Rigby, M.D.

Fidelma B. Rigby, M.D.

Department of OB/GYN

Associate Professor

Email: fidelma.rigby@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Edward H. Springel, M.D.

Edward H. Springel, M.D.

Edward H. Springel, M.D.

Edward H. Springel, M.D.

Department of OB/GYN

Assistant Professor

Email: edward.springel@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile